About the Federal Electorate of Hasluck

The electorate of Hasluck is situated on Whadjuk Noongar boodjar, in the peri-urban north-east of Perth, Western Australia. It includes the population centres of Midland, Kalamunda, Mundaring and Ellenbrook. It covers 1,192 km2 and has a voting population of 117,000 people as of 2022.

It is a fast-growing area, with many new suburbs developed in the north east corridor over the last ten years. 

Hasluck includes the beautiful Swan Valley, a major agri-tourism region which sits just north of the historic centres of Guildford and Midland.

It also contains the John Forrest, Kalamunda, Beelu, Gooseberry Hill and Greenmount National Parks, and the Wooroloo Regional Park, and borders the Walyunga and Avon Valley National Parks.

Hasluck contains an unusually high proportion of mortgage holders, with 52% of families paying a mortgage compared to 35% for Australia as a whole.  There are also a further 18% of families renting.  The proportion of people either holding or studying for trade qualifications is also comparatively high.

Hasluck is co-named for Sir Paul Hasluck, politician and diplomat, and Dame Alexandra Hasluck, writer.  It consists of the Shire of Mundaring, and parts of the City of Kalamunda, City of Swan and City of Belmont. The electorate was first contested at the 2001 Federal Election.

The Member for Hasluck is Tania Lawrence MP. Past Members for Hasluck include Sharryn Jackson, Stuart Henry and the Hon. Ken Wyatt AM.

Hasluck includes all or part of the suburbs of Aveley, Bailup, Baskerville, Beechina, Belhus, Bellevue, Bennett Springs, Bickley, Boya, Brabham, Brigadoon, Bushmead, Caversham, Chidlow, Darlington, Dayton, Ellenbrook, Gidgegannup, Glen Forrest, Gooseberry Hill, Gorrie, Greenmount, Guildford, Hacketts Gully, Hazelmere, Helena Valley, Henley Brook, Herne Hill, Hovea, Jane Brook, Kalamunda, Koongamia, Lesmurdie, Mahogany Creek, Malmalling, Middle Swan, Midland, Midvale, Millendon, Mount Helena, Mundaring, Mundaring Weir, Parkerville, Paulls Valley, Piesse Brook, Red Hill, Sawyers Valley, South Guildford, Stoneville, Stratton, Swan View, The Lakes, The Vines, Upper Swan, Viveash, Walliston, West Swan, Whiteman, Woodbridge and Wooroloo.